Picture
Day 4: 6/28/12

Weight Loss: 1.4 pounds

I have lost 4.8 pounds in 3 days! I think I am going to stick with this. Given how well this is going, I am considering finishing the 5 days and then proceeding on with the 7 days afterwards that Dr. Atkins recommended. I am struggling to believe I can do it though, considering it would be during the 4th of July :/. It would be really nice if I was able to drop 14 pounds in get into 2 weight bracket numbers lower than when I began :) ... making it a nice way to transition into Induction. For articles on Induction, click http://www.atkins.com/Program/Phase-1/How-to-Do-Induction-Right.aspx. I would modify it in one way though, I would eat nuts. On another page, they describe the reason nuts/seeds are not listed as Induction friendly is because it is difficult for moderation. Since the point of Induction is to begin changing behavior and begin monitoring portions while changing your body into a fat burning machine. Since beginning the Fat Fast though, I am having to control portion sizes and track how many calories I am eating. For me it's been pretty simple to consume the same things over and over since I know they are high in fat and lower in calories, but also because I don't mind eating the same thing over and over.
The only thing that has been a little difficult is I have still been a little hungry. To be honest, I am not sure if it is true hunger or if it is simply my body learning to be empty without reaching stuffed. Either way, I am learning to listen to my body better and I am grateful for the pounds that have been melting off :)

Ketosis Level: deep
Breakfast: 3 eggs with remainder of coconut oil in pan, about 250, and 1/4 avocado 62.5 calories = 312.50 calories
Lunch: chicken salad 260 calories, 1/4 avocado 62.5 calories = 322.50 calories
Snack: 28 almonds 170 calories, 1oz goat milk cheese 110 calories = 280 calories
Dinner: chicken salad 260 calories, 1/4 avocado 62.5 calories, Chicharrones 160.5 calories, SF Reese's Peanut Butter Cups 180 calories
Total Calories: 1577.50

Day 5: 6/29/12

Weight Loss: 1 pound
Total Weigh Loss - 5.80

I have to admit I was a little bummed I had only lost 1 pound, because I had hoped for a little more. I noticed my stomach was a little swollen and extended (probably due to the manufactured SF Reese's Peanut Butter Cups. I know I overate and in addition to that, went over the calories by about 300 (per my usual 1250ish). But I really attribute it to overeating...greed. I did realize today however, that eating 1/4 of an avocado helps keep me satiated. I am not a huge fan of avocados, but I am learning to tolerate them because of the good fat and high fiber content.

Ketosis level: deep

Breakfast: 3 eggs + 1 Tbsp coconut oil = 330 calories
Lunch: chicken salad 260 calories, 1/4 avocado 62.5 calories = 322.50 calories
Dinner: chicken salad 260 calories, 1/4 avocado 62.5 calories, chicharrones 160 calories = 482.50
Dessert: sf coconut chocolate 180 calories
Total Calories: 1315

Day 6: 6/30/12

Weigh Loss: 0.80
Total Weight Loss - 6.6 (after 5 days on the fat fast)

I didn't lose as much...which means 1 of 3 things to me: 1) I exceeded the calorie limit again (but good to know I can lose almost a pound!) 2) I didn't get 75oz of water in like I have been, 3) I am slowing down the weight loss since I am about 16 pounds away from a big goal, 21 from my ultimate goal. Dreamland, I would love to be even less than my ultimate goal, but I don't even remember being at my ultimate goal so I have to put things into perspective. Tomorrow morning is my next workout date, so we shall see how it effects weight loss on Monday. With my husband's encouragement (couldn't do this without his love and support!), I am going to strive to stick with this diet through Friday, which would be the full 12 days...and it means I would be Fat Fasting through July 4th.

I am finding more and more how this is such a huge struggle for me...not because of anything in particular, but because I have a hard time saying "no" to myself and struggle to not focus on what I am missing. Ultimately, I desire to be healthy. I am severely insulin resistant, and after a brief meeting with my Dr. in early June, found out that I really need to get my body fat down. Nothing new, but the extra motivation is that combined with my lack of discipline and the already struggle to eat properly, when my husband and I do try to get pregnant, I am at a much higher risk of gestational diabetes. :( This year I set out to get healthy for when we do have a kid. Some of the easiest birthing experiences I have heard of are people that set out a few years in advance with better nutrition and exercise. I figure we are a few years out from having kids and now would be a good time to start getting into better shape. Plus there is more and more research proving how the mother's nutrition plays a vital role in the baby's development and brain function. While I am not trying to play God, I do believe we are responsible for making good decisions and leaving the results up to God.

Ketosis level: deep
Breakfast: 3 eggs + 1 Tbsp coconut oil 330 calories, 2 strips bacon 90 calories = 420 calories
Snack: 1 small piece homemade sf chocolate = 17.08 calories
Lunch: chicken salad 260 calories, 1/4 avocado 62.5 calories = 322.50 calories
Dinner: chicken salad 260 calories, 1/4 avocado 62.5 calories = 322.50 calories
Total Calories: 1064.08







Leave a Reply.