Picture
For the past 6 months, I have really been struggling with my weight. So much so, that even as I was eating what I considered to be "low carb" I wasn't really losing weight; it was actually steadily increasing. After a discussion with my mom and reading about it on Facebook by Dana Carpender, I decided I should thoroughly read about the Fat Fast.

It is recommended while on a Fat Fast to use Ketone strips to determine how ketogenic your diet actually is. "A ketone test checks for ketones in your blood or urine. Ketones are substances that are made when the body breaks down fat for energy. Normally, your body gets the energy it needs from carbohydrate in your diet. But stored fat is broken down and ketones are made if your diet does not contain enough carbohydrate to supply the body with sugar (glucose) for energy or if your body can't use blood sugar (glucose) properly." I tested myself on June 24th, 2012, and found that my level was "trace" which is the 2nd to lowest in the ketone levels; lowest being "negative". Now I knew for sure, what I have been doing isn't working. I have also read about how too much protein turns into glucose. The combination of not enough vegetables, the excess protein, and low carb fruit I have been consuming, made me think I was in a stall. While I could have started Induction, I felt it would be best to start the Fat Fast and get a better ketogenic edge.

In Dr. Atkins' New Diet Revolution, he advices following the Fat Fast for 4-5 days if you are in a stall or unable to lose any weight. If you are successful with the Fat Fast, he advises increasing your calories by 200-300 and continue for 7 more days. Fat Fast Rules: 1,000 calories (75-90% fat) with a 10 net carb maximum. Dr. Atkins suggests having 5 feedings of 200 calories. Personally I have kept to my 3 meals and mainly 1,200 - 1,250 and been very successful. To date, I have completed 5 days of the Fat Fast and lost 6.6 pounds. I will include my food journal and some of my thoughts in another post.

Some great articles about Fat Fast are:

http://www.carbsmart.com/fat-fasting-really-is-as-awesome-as-i-thought.html

http://www.carbsmart.com/can-you-do-the-hcg-diet-and-atkins-fat-fast.html
http://www.carbsmart.com/update-workout-goes-well-on-my-fat-fast.html




Leave a Reply.